Politics Economy

Weld Among Chamber of Commerce Award Winners

outgoing City Council president honored at annual meeting

V1 Staff |

The Eau Claire Area Chamber of Commerce honored several local leaders and volunteers at its “Eau What a Night” event recently.

Terry Weld, who will end his term as Eau Claire City Council president in April, was named Public Employee of the Year by the chamber for embodying “personal and professional development qualities that contribute to the spirit of progress between the public and private sectors.”

Past recipients of the award include Eau Claire Interim City Manger David Solberg and UW-Eau Claire Chancellor James Schmidt, both of whom received it in 2022.

Weld first joined the City Council in 2017 and was elected president the following year. He recently announced he won’t seek another term in the April election.

Other winners at the Jan. 25 event – which doubled as the Chamber’s 108th annual meeting – included Hannah Connor of Chippewa Valley Technical College, who was named Outstanding Young Professional of the Chippewa Valley; Ryan Ludy of Prevail Bank, who won the Glassbrenner-Klinkhammer Spirit Award, for service to the Chamber Ambassador program; and Aaron Libner of Coulee Tech as Outstanding Chamber Volunteer of the Year.

The Eau Claire Area Chamber of Commerce is the community’s largest business advocacy organization with more than 1,100 members. Learn more about the organization at EauClaireChamber.org.