Six Newcomers Seeking E.C. City Council Seats

incumbents Emmanuelle, Klinkhammer, and Lor won’t run again

Tom Giffey |

Eau Claire City Hall. (Submitted photo)
Eau Claire City Hall. (Submitted photo)

The Eau Claire City Council will have at least three new members this spring. Three council incumbents – Catherine Emmanuelle, David Klinkhammer, and John Lor – have filed paperwork saying they won’t seek re-election to their at-large seats in the April 5 election. 

However, the names of two other at-large incumbents – Kate Beaton and Roderick Jones – will be on the spring ballot. Beaton will be seeking her third term on the council, while Jones, who was appointed to fill a vacancy last year, is seeking his first full term.

According to information posted online Tuesday by the Eau Claire City Clerk’s Office, the incumbents will be joined on the ballot by six new names: Bob Carr, Charlie Johnson, Larry O. Mboga, Joshua Miller, Mark Richter, and Brian Trowbridge. The top five vote-getters from among the eight candidates will be elected to three-year terms on the City Council.

Candidates’ nomination papers and signatures were due to the City Clerk’s office by 5pm Tuesday.

Five other City Council members represent district seats, which won’t be up for re-election until 2024. And Council President Terry Weld’s seat will be on the ballot in 2023.

Meanwhile, three seats on the Eau Claire school board will also be up for grabs in April. According to the district, two incumbents – President Tim Nordin and board Clerk Marquell Johnson – are both seeking re-election. They will be joined on the ballot by Corey Cronrath, Nicole Everson, Stephanie Farrar, Josh Ingersoll, and Melissa Winter. (A third incumbent, Aaron Harder, is not seeking re-election).

Other offices on the spring ballot in Wisconsin will include county board members and other nonpartisan municipal officials. Find out what’s on your ballot and other election information at myvote.wi.gov.