Opening Up

Businesses, Citizens Given City Green Awards

V1 Staff |

Several Eau Claire businesses, students, and civic leaders will receive Sustainable Eau Claire Awards from the city’s Sustainability Advisory Committee on June 5. It’s the second time the committee has handed out awards that “recognize individuals, businesses, and organizations that are making a difference and creating a more sustainable Eau Claire.” Winners, who will receive awards made from wood from city street trees by Eco Urban Timber, are as follows: Phillips-Medisize Corp. (Clean-Up or Beautification); David Donovan of Xcel Energy (Energy: Renewables, Efficiency, or Conservation); Erin LaFaive of UW-Extension and Ashlea Orth of UW-Eau Claire (Environmental Education); The Oxbow Hotel and Eau Claire County (Exceptional Natural Resources Stewards); Ethan Fuhrman, Anneka Johnson, and Laiken Peterson of UWEC (Student Leadership); Mike Schatz (Sustainable City Staff); and First Choice Computer Recycling Inc. (Waste Reduction, Composting, or Recycling).