Golden Apples Honor Outstanding Educators

V1 Staff

A group of Eau Claire educators who go above and beyond to help their students achieve were honored at the Third Annual Golden Apple Awards in April. Award-winners are nominated by their peers and are selected from each of the 20 schools in the Eau Claire school district. According to the Eau Claire Public Schools Foundation, which oversees the program, each winner receives two $500 grants: One is an unrestricted grant that can be used by the winner in the classroom or school in any way he or she chooses; the other goes to each school’s Fund for Today, which the principal can use for the school’s greatest needs.

In addition to being honored at an April 5 banquet at Wild Ridge & Mill Run Golf Course, the winners were profiled by WEAU 13 News. To see videos of the honorees and to read more about them, you can find the WEAU stories at

The 2018 Golden Apple winners are:

  • Chippewa Valley Montessori Charter School: Amy Daw, school secretary
  • DeLong Middle School: Lars Long, teacher on special assignment
  • Flynn Elementary School: Deb Schretenthaler, kindergarten teacher
  • Lakeshore Elementary School: Linda Brown, reading and literacy coach
  • Locust Lane Elementary School: Brad Sommer, fourth-grade teacher
  • Longfellow Elementary School: Holly Larson, partnership coordinator
  • Manz Elementary School: Heather Hernandez, kindergarten teacher
  • Meadowview Elementary School: Sarah Loback, first-grade teacher
  • Memorial High School: Celena Smith-Reuter, French teacher
  • McKinley Charter School: Beth Mulé, competency component teacher
  • North High School: Dave Reidt, school counselor
  • Northstar Middle School: Amy Carlson-Sather, social studies teacher
  • Northwoods Elementary School: Michelle Hrudka, second-grade teacher
  • Prairie Ridge Early Learning Center: Kari Holloway, EC4T Head Start teacher
  • Putnam Heights Elementary School: Melissa Greer, fourth-grade teacher
  • Robbins Elementary School: Barb Redman, third-grade teacher
  • Roosevelt Elementary School: Stacy Wisse, kindergarten teacher
  • Sam Davey Elementary School: Katie Haugen, special education teacher
  • Sherman Elementary School: Angie Nelson, first-grade teacher
  • South Middle School: Cathy Steidl, math teacher

To learn more about the Golden Apple Awards or to make a gift to the Eau Claire Public Schools Foundation, contact Executive Director Sarah French at or (715) 852-3015.

Press and hold the up/down arrows to scroll.