Arts Wisconsin accepting nominations for this year’s Arts in the Community Awards

Eric Koeppel

Hey you, do you know someone who is an active advocate for the advancement of arts in Wisconsin? Well, Arts Wisconsin, Wisconsin’s voice for the arts, and League of Wisconsin Municipalities are seeking nominations for the fifth annual Arts in the Community Awards. The awards recognize communities and individuals who “champion innovative arts, arts education and/or creative economy projects in their communities.”

There will be at least two awards given out this year: one for an individual from a community with a population of more than 20,000; and one for an individual from a community with a population of less than 20,000. The awards will be announced the week of September 2 and presented at the 115th Annual Conference of the League of Wisconsin Municipalities on October 16 in Green Bay.

As of yet there has only been one Arts in the Community Award given to Chippewa Valleyans: Menomonie Mayor Dennis Cropp and former Dunn County Board member B. Jane Hoyt, and the Mabel Tainter Center for the Arts.

Nominations are due to Arts Wisconsin by 5pm on Monday, August 19 via e-mail at For specific nomination guidelines head on over to the Arts in the Community Awards page on the Arts Wisconsin website. Good luck!