Volume One Special Coverage: Pulling Together While Staying Apart


Incumbents Xiong, Stroebel Won’t Seek Re-Election

Tom Giffey

Michael Xiong and David Stroebel
Michael Xiong and David Stroebel

Two Eau Claire City Council members won’t seek re-election to their at-large seats this spring. Incumbents David Stroebel and Michael Xiong have both said they will not run for a third three-year term. Both were elected to the council in the spring of 2013. There are three other at-large council seats, currently held by Catherine Emmanuelle, Kate Beaton, and Terry Weld. Emmanuelle and Beaton have both indicated they will seek re-election, while Weld will instead pursue the council presidency, which will also be on the spring ballot. Acting Council President Andrew Werthmann – who took on that role when Council President Kerry Kincaid resigned in June – previously said he will seek to be elected to the council presidency in his own right. The winner of the race between Weld and Werthmann will fill out the remaining year of Kincaid’s three-year term. City Clerk Carrie Riepl said that, as of Dec. 21, she had spoken to 16 people who had requested the necessary documents to file for candidacy in the spring elections. However, only two – Emmanuelle and Werthmann – had turned in their paperwork. Other declared candidates for the at-large council seats include political newcomers John Lor and Chandler Lorentz. The deadline for submitting nomination forms is Wednesday, Jan. 2. The general election for City Council and other nonpartisan positions is April 2, and a primary will be held Feb. 19 if necessary.

Lasker Jewelers
Lasker Jewelers

Pulling Together Partners

The following organizations are currently supporting Volume One’s work in the community during the pandemic:

Lasker Jewelers

L.E. Phillips Memorial Public Library, Eau Claire

Downtown Eau Claire Inc DECI

University of Wisconsin Eau Claire

Pablo Group

Wisconsin Independent Network

Middle West Management

Bon Iver

Royal Credit Union

Silver Spring

Evergreen Surgical

Charter Bank

The Murty Henriksen Family

The Larry and Marie Past Family

The Dan and Kerry Kincaid Family

Anton and Rae Schilling-Smets

Brady and Jeanne Foust

If your organization is interested in supporting Volume One during this difficult time, nick@volumeone.orgcontact us.