Volume One Special Coverage: Pulling Together While Staying Apart


Writers Guild Will Help Oversee Wisconsin Poet Laureate

Tom Giffey

The Chippewa Valley Writers Guild has been chosen to become part of the Wisconsin Poet Laureate Commission, a volunteer group that promotes and administers the state’s poet laureate program. The commission includes at-large members as well as representatives from a variety of arts groups from around the state, including the Wisconsin Humanities Council, the Wisconsin Fellowship of Poets, the Wisconsin Center for the Book, the Wisconsin Arts Board, the Council for Wisconsin Writers, and the Wisconsin Academy of Sciences, Arts, and Letters. B.J. Hollars, a UW-Eau Claire professor of English and founder of the Writers Guild, will represent the Chippewa Valley Writers Guild on the commission beginning Jan. 1. Hollars is the author of numerous books of both fiction and nonfiction, including most recently The Road South: Personal Stories of the Freedom Riders. At the beginning of 2019, the commission is expected to name a new poet laureate to replace Karla Huston, who was named to the post in 2017. Past poets laureate include Eau Claire’s Max Garland.

Lasker Jewelers
Lasker Jewelers

Pulling Together Partners

The following organizations are currently supporting Volume One’s work in the community during the pandemic:

Lasker Jewelers

L.E. Phillips Memorial Public Library, Eau Claire

Downtown Eau Claire Inc DECI

University of Wisconsin Eau Claire

Pablo Group

Wisconsin Independent Network

Middle West Management

Bon Iver

Royal Credit Union

Silver Spring

Evergreen Surgical

Charter Bank

The Murty Henriksen Family

The Larry and Marie Past Family

The Dan and Kerry Kincaid Family

Anton and Rae Schilling-Smets

Brady and Jeanne Foust

If your organization is interested in supporting Volume One during this difficult time, nick@volumeone.orgcontact us.