Electrolyte Empire Releases Debut EP via Digital Download

Tyler Griggs, photos by Andrea Paulseth

It was about a year ago Electrolyte Empire wrapped up recording the seven-song Underfoot EP. The 90s-inspired hard rockers spent six grueling months with local sound engineer Jaime Hansen, but never got around to producing any sort of physical product to sell or pass out at shows. Their sunfire-hot concerts alone could not sate the fans, friends, and family who pestered the band for months for answers on when the EP was coming out.

“It’s like a dad building a tree fort for his son,” joked guitarist Joel Patrow, “but we do have actual plans (for the EP).”

Harnessing the power of Bandwith.org, a locally produced website that aims to connect fans to bands, Electrolyte Empire have released their album as a free download. The Underfoot EP is 30 minutes of bristling, fiery, high-energy songwriting, suggesting the styles of Alice in Chains, Screaming Trees, and Red Hot Chili Peppers. Singer Jim Strum’s snarls and roars surf on tumultuous waves stirred by Joel and David Patrow’s guitars and basses, while drummer Justin LeMay slams the skins.

Download Underfoot at Bandwith.org/bands/Electrolyte-Empire. Catch Electrolyte Empire live as they open for The Nicotines reunion June 1 at the House of Rock (422 Water St., EC) and June 15 with DIY Daisy and The Ronald Raygun at The Mousetrap (311 S. Barstow St., EC).


Press and hold the up/down arrows to scroll.