a not-too-sprawling tour of some of Frank Lloyd Wright’s midwestern masterpieces
A. H. Bulbulian House (1947)
A one-story house built with one 120-degree angle, built out of cement brick and cypress wood.
Thomas E. Keys House (1950)
Nestled into the surrounding hills, this house is based on a 1938 design for Detroit autoworkers.
James B. McBean House (1957)
A Usonian house with the same floor plan as the Walter Rudin House in Madison.
Malcom F. Willey House (1934)
Built primarily of red brick and cypress wood on only 1,200 square feet, the Willey house incorporates elements of both Wright’s Prairie School and Usonian styles.
Frieda and Henry J. Neils House (1949)
A Usonian, L-shaped house, and Wright’s only creation built with marble walls.
Don and Virginia Lovness Estate (1956)
The property includes the main house, the studio, and a smaller home, the cottage, both made of Wisconsin stone.
S. P. Elam House (1950)
A two-story stone and cypress house with a design based on triangles and rectangles. The massive are constructed of limestone from a quarry near Wright’s summer home, Taliesin.
ST. LOUIS PARK, MN
Paul Olfelt House (1958)
A small house built into a hillside, this structure was completed by Taliesin Architects after Wright’s death in 1959.
Fasbender Clinic (1957)
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, this clinic has distinctive copper roof extending almost to the ground.
RICHLAND CENTER, WI
A. D. German Warehouse (1917-1921)
This former Warehouse now houses a gift shop, small theater, and large photo murals illustrating Wright’s architectural work.
Monona Terrace (designed 1938-1959)
One of Wright’s final creative visions, designed as a cultural, governmental, and recreational building.
Unitarian Meeting House (1946)
Commissioned by the First Unitarian Society of Madison, this house uses stones from a nearby quarry.